Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Stuart Fraser honored by Central Hockey League

CHL Leadership Award goes to league's longest-tenured owner

The Central Hockey League’s annual summer meeting came to a
close on Saturday evening, with Texas Brahmas owner, Stuart Fraser honored with the CHL Leadership Award.

Fraser has been the majority owner of the Brahmas for 14 seasons and continues to be a positive leader and influence in the CHL. Accepting Fraser’s award on his behalf was Brahmas General Manager, Mike Barack. Fraser is the league's longest-tenured owner, having taking the reins during the 1998-99 campaign.

“I want to thank the CHL, all of the Brahmas staff, the City of North Richland Hills and NYTEX Sports for taking part in the Brahmas continuation of pro hockey in our area,” Fraser said upo
n hearing the announcement. “I also appreciate all of our loyal fans who have supported our franchise through thick and thin,” he added.

Also announced were the participating teams for the CHL’s 20th year of play. The new season will consist of a 14-team league split into two conferences of seven teams with the conference reflecting the geography of North and South. The Wichita Thunder will be moving to the Southern Conference.

The conference alignment for the 2011-12 season will be as follows:

North (Turner Confer


Dayton Gems

Evansville IceMen

Fort Wayne Komets

Missouri Mavericks

Quad City Mallards

Rapid City Rush

South (Berry Conference)

Allen Americans

Arizona Sundogs

Laredo Bucks

Rio Grande Valley Killer Bees

Texas Brahmas
Tulsa Oilers

Wichita Thunder

Photo/Image Credits: Top, Robert Keith
; Bottom: Central Hockey League

No comments: