Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Brahmas hold on tight for 3-2 win against Thunder

Hellyer nets second post-season game-winner

The Texas Brahmas managed to hold off the Wichita Thunder's third period comeback tonight and earned their first win in the Berry Conference Finals by a score of 3-2.

Brad Fogal stopped 18 of 20 shots faced to earn his fourth post-season win  and Mike Hellyer tallied his second game-winning goal in the playoffs.

There was no scoring in the opening frame in which the Thunder led in shots,
9-3. The Brahmas took control with a 12-4 shot advantage and three unanswered goals in the second period.

Adam Hogg scored his second goal in as many games to give the Brahmas a 1-0 lead at the 6:34 mark, assisted by Chad Woollard and Erik Spady.

Andrew Lackner put the Brahmas up 2-0 less five minutes later off the set up by Calin Wild and Sy Nutkevitch at the 11:30 mark. It was Lackner's second tally of the post-season.

The Brahmas extended their lead to 3-0 when Mike Hellyer fired a backhanded scoop shot past Wichita net minder Adam Russo with 2:40 remaining in the middle frame. Brett Findlay and Brendon Hodge were credited with the assists.

Wichita found their way onto the scoreboard when Kevin Young picked up a loose puck in front of the Brahmas' net and beat Brad Fogal 2:32 into the third period. Thomas Beauregard and Alex Bourret assisted on the play.

The Thunder then cut the Brahmas’ lead to 3-2 at 15:33 as an R.G. Flath wrister found the back of the net. Beauregard and Jarred Mohr were in on the assists.

Despite the late surge, the Brahmas second-period scoring was enough to get them their first win of the best-of-seven series.

Brad Fogal stopped 18 of 20 shots faced and earned the win.

The Brahmas were assessed 8 minutes on 4 infractions and went 0 for 1 on the power play.

Referee: Zak Blazic
Linesman 1: Shawn Morgan
Linesman 2: Kyle DeMaggio

1st Star: Mike Hellyer (1 G)
2nd Star: Andrew Lackner (1 G)
3rd Star: Adam Hogg (1 G)

You can view Pointstreak's Box Score here and their GameLive broadcast here.

Game Four of the best-of-seven series is set for a 7:30 pm CST face-off on Friday night at the NYTEX Sports Centre.

Photo Credit: Robert Keith

No comments: